jump to navigation

Churchill on Religion July 26, 2015

Posted by anagasto in history, philosophy.
trackback

.
churchill

.

According to Dante, Churchill would go straight to hell with his idea on how to cope with religion because in Dante’s Divine Comedy there is a place reserved in hell for those who were neither faithful to God nor rebellious.

de li angeli che non furon ribelli
né fur fedeli a Dio

.
“I now began to read a number of books which challenged the whole religious education I had received at Harrow. The first of these books was […..] dealing in harsh terms with the mysteries of all religions and leading to the depressing conclusion that we simply go out like candles. I was much startled […..]I found that Gibbon evidently held the same view; […..] For a time I was indignant at having been told so many untruths,[…..] Of course if I had been at a University my difficulties might have been resolved by the eminent professors[…..] As it was I passed through a violent and aggressive anti-religious phase which, had it lasted, might easily have made me a nuisance.”

……………………………………………………………..

.

To me, it has always been a mystery why Churchill is disliked. Those who dislike him can never say why.

The problem is that I also disliked him and don’t know why. So I  read deep into his WW 1 and WW2 and  into that little autobiography quoted below. Those are great books.

And still  I  don’t know why I dislike him. —

 

churchill-the-war-correspondent

Quote complete:

churchill religion

Winston S. Churchill, My Early Life: 1874-1904

As a public domain text of Archive.org based on a Gutenberg transcript

http://tinyurl.com/msqa25d

or

http://www.archive.org/stream/rovingcommissino001321mbp/rovingcommissino001321mbp_djvu.txt
…………………………………………………………………….

.

As a writer, what was he best at?

Guess.

Battles?  Strategy?  History?

Politics?

Character studies in his  detailed, vivid, yet deferent portrayals he made of his subordinates, especially the generals.

.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

